Damage Dice Progression Chart
The PRD originally contained a number of conflicting charts for how to handle dice increases (and decreases) due to size changes. To handle the conflicts, Paizo issued an errata. The following breaks down the errata.
If the Size is on the Chart
- Original is Medium
- +1 Size Damage: Increase the damage by 2 steps
- -1 Size Damage: Decrease the damage by 2 steps
- Original Damage is 1d8 or Less: Decrease damage by 1 step
- Original is Small
- +1 Size Damage: Increase the damage by 1 step
- -1 Size Damage: Decrease the damage by 1 step
- +1 Size Damage: If the initial damage is 1d6 or less, instead increase the damage by one step
- -1 Size Damage: If the initial damage is 1d8 or lower
If the Size is NOT on the Chart
- Original is Xd6
- 1. Find the next lower of d6
- 2. Use that number of d8 as the original damage value
- Example: 10d6 -> 8d8
- Original is Xd8
- 1. Find next highest number of d8
- 2. Use that number of d6
- Example: 5d8 -> 6d6
- Original is 2d10 or Xd10
- 2d10 increases to 4d8 and decreases to 2d8, regardless of the initial size, and so on for higher numbers of d10. From Mark Seifter: 4d8->4d10->8d8 and 2d12=4d6, 5d12=10d6 is correct.
- Size Not Referenced
- 2d4 counts as 1d8 on the chart, 3d4 counts as 2d6 on the chart, and so on for higher numbers of d4. 1d12 counts as 2d6 on the chart, and so on for higher numbers of d12.
The above are applied before adjusting the dice.
|Damage Dice Progression Chart|
What does this chart replace? What does it not replace?
This chart replaces general size progression charts within the PRD that apply to size increases and decreases. If a specific number was called out (for example, with shillelagh), it does not change that number. It would also not affect the base monk, as the monk's flurry dice are not due to a size increase. However, if the monk were subject to an Enlarge Person, the above chart would come into play.
As a quick summary, this errata updates:
- The Bestiary chart
- The INA feat
- The Tiny and Large Weapon Dmg chart
- Spells here and there (but see above paragraph)
Size Increase Stacking
Paizo FAQ: Size increases and effective size increases: How does damage work if I have various effects that change my actual size, my effective size, and my damage dice?
As per the rules on size changes, size changes do not stack, so if you have multiple size changing effects (for instance an effect that increases your size by one step and another that increases your size by two steps), only the largest applies. The same is true of effective size increases (which includes “deal damage as if they were one size category larger than they actually are,” “your damage die type increases by one step,” and similar language). They don’t stack with each other, just take the biggest one. However, you can have one of each and they do work together (for example, enlarge person increasing your actual size to Large and a bashing shield increasing your shield’s effective size by two steps, for a total of 2d6 damage).